Fitness, Parenting

Day 6 & 7 | Go one day only eating WHOLE FOODS / Try an ICED coffee

Halfway through my 12 days of new year challenge, and it have to say I’m enjoying it. It has prompted me to try and do things that I’ve been meaning to for a long time. We are well in to January and so far I have started a blog, gone a day without caffeine, donated clothes to charity, gone a day only eating whole foods, tried a new recipe, done a push up challenge and started taking my son to a baby group.

My 2016 has got off to a good start, although last week was a little rough as Charlie wasn’t sleeping well, I was sleep deprived and my husband was away with work. My approach to 2016 is to “just do it” – shout out to Nike! Lol. But seriously, instead of thinking about doing things, I’ve started to just do them, and this has been recognised by my husband. I must say it has been very liberating. They are only small things that I have been doing, but I’ve been doing them nonetheless.

I owe a lot of my new mentality to the fitness community that I discovered while on my quest to lose weight. In school I was always overweight, hated sports, hated girly things, I would always wear boyish clothes, sometimes begging to have my older brother’s hand-me-downs. I always believed that ifs I could just get to the size and weight that I wanted to be, I’d be able to wear the girly clothes I secretly wanted to wear, I thought life would be so much better. And yes, it is better BUT not just because I’ve lost weight. I lost 2.5 stone doing Insanity in 2013/14. I then began to watch YouTube fitness channels – Christian Guzman, Nikki Blakketter, Tony Do, Matty Fusaro, Buff Bunny (to name only a few), and I discovered a whole community based around healthy lifestyles, positivity, supporting and encouraging one another. And I loved it. It’s not about deprivation, but moderation and sustainability. It isn’t just about physical fitness or looking good, it’s about mental fitness, feeling good and taking action to do what makes you happy and to change what doesn’t.

These people have been so inspirational to me, and I hope that I can pass on that inspiration to others. I’m just your average woman, a mother, a wife, no gym membership, no fortunes, no sponsors, just your everyday woman trying to live a happy, healthy lifestyle.

Its not just about the weight loss, it’s about the confidence that comes with loving your body, loving yourself, loving your life. It’s about realising that if you can dream it, you can do it. If you’re not happy about something, you have the power to change it. It only takes small steps each day, but you should always be on a quest to better yourself, in every aspect of life. Today for example, I will have been to the gym, written this blog, and cooked a meal for my parents as a thank you for everything they do for me. All very small things in the grand scheme of things, but they all come together to make me a happier, healthier person. Writing my blog takes me a step closer to my goal of inspiring people. Going to the gym takes me a step closer to my fitness goals. Cooking for my parents takes me a step closer to being a better daughter. To some people, these things may seem insignificant and silly, but to me, doing something small every day is what helps me to build a better me. Every day is a new opportunity to build a life that you can look back at and feel happy.


So challenge day 6 and day 7 are in the books. Eat WHOLE foods all day – this wasn’t actually too difficult. I ate chicken, salmon, eggs and nuts for protein; veggies, fruit, rice, oats for carbs; nuts, avocado, olive oil for fats. And as always I drank 3 litres of water throughout the day. I felt good for it, but I won’t be doing it everyday – I’d miss my peanut butter, pop tarts and and protein bars too much πŸ™‚


And finally, as I am writing this blog, I am in Costa coffee trying an iced latte – my verdict: nice, but I will stick to hot coffees I think. It’s the warmth that makes me feel good inside πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

