Parenting

Who I am and why I’m here | Day 1 Blogging 101

“Are you going to stop trying to eat your foot and have a nap.”

Finally my son is asleep so I can have a bit of “me time” My son is 9 months old, his name is Charlie. My name is Joanne, I’m 29, married and live in the UK.

I started this blog in January 2016 and so far I’m really enjoying blogging, I find it therapeutic and I enjoy receiving feedback from readers. My blog focuses around my life as a stay at home mum bringing up Charlie. My husband and I went through IVF after 3 years of trying to conceive, and Charlie was definitely worth the wait. He has changed our lives. In previous blogs I have spoken about the pressures and the difficult parts of becoming a parent, I have also blogged about managing the household finances now that we are a one income family, and in the future I plan to write a detailed account of our IVF journey. I want my blog to be a place for new parents or people who are trying to conceive, maybe going through IVF themselves, to be able to have an honest insight into my life. I welcome any questions and feedback from readers.

When i am not busy with Charlie or blogging, I love to keep fit. I was previously overweight but in 2013/14 I completed the Insanity workout programme 3 times through, losing a total of 2 and a half stone (15kg). I fell in love with fitness and developed a keen interest in nutrition. Shortly after losing the weight I went through IVF which led to a successful pregnancy, blessing my husband and I with Charlie in April 2015. I quickly lost my pregnancy weight and whilst on maternity leave I gained a qualification in fitness instructing, and I am now currently taking a Nutrition Advisor course. I would love to share tips on diet and fitness with readers of my blog if there is interest in that. I do not have a gym membership – I workout at home with free weights, mostly at the weekend or on an evening when Charlie is in bed. I am managing to maintain my weight nicely, and I have been helping friends to lose weights by helping them with their diet.

One thing that I have found as I have got older is that, in life you cannot follow somebody else’s footsteps, you have to find what works for you, whether that be in parenting, fitness, careers etc. Look at what other people do, take bits from them and apply it to your own life, in your own way and strive to become the best version of yourself that you can be. If you have ideas and aspirations, I encourage you to take action and do something today that will take you closer to achieving them. Too often we think “what if” and this stops us from taking action. We think that if we wait, the perfect time will come and the thing that we do or produce will be perfect. Well it doesn’t need to be perfect – everybody starts somewhere – the most important thing is to just take action. Too much time is spent worrying about the end result, when in fact taking action, and perhaps failing, is better than taking no action at all. Every action produces a result – good or bad, and the bad ones we can learn from.

Thankyou for reading, I hope you found this blog interesting and that you will come back and read more. I am excited about taking part in Blogging 101 – it’s just what I needed to help me to blog more consistently. For any readers who are not familiar with what Blogging 101 is – it is a WordPress course that I am part of which sets daily tasks to help people reach their blogging goals. 🙂

 

1 thought on “Who I am and why I’m here | Day 1 Blogging 101”

Leave a Reply

