Parenting

What might have been…….

“The Road Less Traveled. Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision.” -wordpress daily post.

Today’s blogging assignment asks me to use the above prompt to write a blog post.

I am 29 years old, married, I have a son, several qualifications and a career. To get to where I am today I would say that I have made a handful of very big decisions. The one decision that sticks out for me is, my decision to go to University. I often have wonder how things would have turned out if I hadn’t attended.

I graduated from The University of Sheffield in 2007 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Sociology. Why did I chose to go to University? Well in all honesty I didn’t really give too much thought to the alternative. The high school that I attended was very keen to get people to University, that always seemed to be the route that they steered students along. My brother had attended university, most of my friends were going, and at the age of 17 I didn’t really have much of an idea about where I wanted to go in life. Why did I choose Sociology? I actually started a degree in Geography as I had really enjoyed this at A-level, but after just one week I changed my course to Sociology. I had always done exceptionally well at Sociology (A* GCSE and A at A-Level), whereas Geography was a little more of a challenge. Looking back I probably went with the easiest option, again giving no thought to what I wanted to do with my degree.

My first year had many ups and downs, I enjoyed the course but I was very home-sick, I wasn’t all that confident and I found it hard to fit in with the loud, confident people from all over the UK with all types of different backgrounds and opinions. I felt drowned out and out of my depths. Living in halls or residence wasn’t so bad though because you could never feel really lonely.

My second year was better, I gained strength from knowing that I had made it through the first year and I found a good group of friends on my course. I moved in to a house with two other girls and I got a part time job. I enjoyed the independence and it was great to be in an actual house – much different from halls of residence.

The third and final year was very busy, I moved to a flat with one of my friends, I began voluntary work, I was still working a part time job and this was all in the busiest year of my course. I would say that this is the year where I gained most of my confidence, and by this point I had a fairly good idea of what job I wanted to get after Uni – even though the job does not require a degree.

So after graduating I had to move back home with my parents because I couldn’t afford to move out, I worked two different office jobs and two years later I got in to the career I am in now. None of the jobs I have held have required a degree, and I have not really ever used this degree since graduating. Am I glad that I got it? Yes, it’s nice to have on my CV. Could I have done without it? Absolutely. I have many friends who didn’t go to university, they are successful, mature and in some cases are earning more than I am – without a student loan to pay back.

So what if I hadn’t gone to University? I think that I would have worked my way up to a management position in one of the jobs that I held. I might have also done some travelling and seen the world before settling down. If I could go back now, I would choose either a business course or a nutrition science course; but at that time I wasn’t interested in either like I am now. So sometimes thinking “i wish I’d done this or that” just doesn’t work because it wouldn’t have been right at the time.

We make decisions based on what we feel is right at that time. Put in the same position a few years later we might have made different decisions, but each decision that we have made has brought us to where we are today and has made us the people that we are. A wrong decision will always turn out right in the end, even if we have to work a little harder to put things right.

A favourite quote of mine is “Everything will be ok in the end. And if it isn’t ok, then it is not the end”

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/the-road-less-traveled/”>The Road Less Traveled</a>

8 thoughts on “What might have been…….”

  1. Hi Joanne, stumbled on your blog via the Blogging101 course.

    I love the quote at the end of this post.

    I’m a new mum too (eight month and two weeks old), so I really look forward to reading more from you.

    PS- your son has beautiful eyes

    Like

  2. Hello Joanne,

    A fellow Blogging 101 student here. I have wrestled with this same thought about attending college. I have several friends who are more financially successful than myself and never attended college. I like your last thoughts about our decisions making us who we are today. We could have skipped college, but it was also formative years in our lives and I have some great memories and relationships from my college experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Cody thanks for visiting my blog. I’m a firm believer that things happen for a reason, and the decisions we made have led us to where we are. Self reflection is so important for seeing how far we’ve come and to help us to make decisions in the future 🙂 I’m really enjoying blogging101 – what will we do when it’s finished! 🙂

      Like

  3. I like your quote. It is a positive way to look at decision making. I always get nervous when I have to make major decisions. I have to bend a knee and pray. Thanks for sharing your story. It was interesting and I really like your last paragraph about the decisions we make put us where were are and who we are now. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

