Fitness, Parenting

Full Day Of Eating | How I Track Macros

I don’t count calories per se – I track my total amounts of macronutrients; Carbohydrates, Fats and Protein.

I am currently maintaining my weight at 9 st 3 lb (129 lbs / 58kg). In order to maintain my weight I need to be eating 2,300 calories roughly – based on my activity level and body mass. If I wanted to lose weight I would eat less calories, if I want to put on weight I will eat more. From experimenting with different numbers I have found that 2,300 calories maintains my weight.

As I mentioned above I do not “count calories” per se, rather, I have a number of calories that I need to hit, and I divide them in to certain amounts of carbohydrates, fats and proteins. You could in theory just eat 2,300 calories of almost entirely fat, or 2,300 calories of carbs, or protein. But that wouldn’t be any good for health or body composition. So I choose what percentage of each “macronutrient” (carbs/fats/proteins) I will consume each day.

My current daily goals are:

Carbs: 300g

Fats: 60g

Protein: 128g

Here I will take you through a full day of eating – showing you how I hit my numbers and what foods I ate. My diet changes day to day – some days I eat very healthy, while other days I choose to eat more “naughty” foods. It’s up to me how I hit my numbers, as long as I hit them. So one day I may eat mostly “healthy fats” like avocado, nuts, oils; but then another day I may hit my fats by eating pop tarts or chocolate. It is what makes my way of “dieting” so easy to maintain – because it is flexible. It’s all about moderation, not deprivation. 

Wednesday 24th February 2016

First meal of the day – Porridge oats (made with water) peanut butter, multi-vitamin and a fish oil tablet. I weigh out my servings in order to know what I am consuming. And I track my food intake in the app My Fitness Pal. I will show you at the bottom of the page what this looks like.

  
Mid-morning snack – Rice Krispie square and a banana.

  
Lunch – Chicken breast, microwave vegetable rice, avocado, brocolli & green beans. 

  

Afternoon snack – popchips & some blueberries. 

  

Evening meal – turkey mince Bolognese, pasta & low fat cheese

  
Followed by “dessert” – Apple, walnuts & fat free plain Greek yogurt (not pictured).

  
Evening snack once baby is in bed – weetabix, semi-skimmed milk and sugar. I don’t always put sugar on my weetabix but I do prefer doing it this way rather than eating cereal with a lot of sugar already added. This way I control how much sugar I use. 

  

Now this looks like I spend all day eating – some days I may only have 2 or 3 big meals. On this particular day I was on the go a lot so I grabbed a couple of snacks here and there to keep me going. 

On days when I know I will be eating a high fat meal (eg going out for tea, having a takeaway) I just make sure that I eat lower fat foods throughout the day, and focus more on my carbs and proteins. 

I am not so strict with myself that I hit my exact numbers every single day. And every other weekend I don’t track anything, just to give myself that mental break.

But I find, personally for me, that keeping track of what I am consuming helps me to maintain my weight easily whilst I am unable to dedicate as much time as I once did to working out. 

On this particular day I hit my numbers as follows:

Carbs: 298g

Fats: 62g

Protein: 128g

My Fitness Pal (below) is a great way of keeping track of your food to see what you are eating and what you are lacking. It also shows your ratio of macronutrients on the pie chart.

  

And here is what it looks like when inputting food items:

  
I am able to maintain my weight on high calories – so that if I wanted to drop a couple of pounds I could cut my calories to say 1,900 calories, adjust my macronutrients accordingly – and lose weight whilst still eating a decent amount of food and not depriving myself. 

I struggled with my weight for many many years and I have finally found what works for me. It may not work for everybody, but I hope that readers will find this useful. I aim to upload a “Full Day of Eating” one day per week. I will be sure to include days when I’m working out to show you how I time my foods, and days when I’m having a high fat meal at night to show you how I make adjustments for this. Let me know if this was helpful and feel free to leave a comment or ask me any questions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

