Fitness, Lifestyle, Parenting

Revisiting New Years resolutions | What I am failing at.

Previously on my blog I have mentioned the importance of self-reflection, in order to see how far we have come, what we can improve on and what new goals we might want to set.

As we begin the first day of March I am reflecting on the New Years resolutions that I made at the beginning of 2016:

1. Start a blog – I’ve certainly achieved this. I started my blog not really knowing what direction I would take it in, I am still finding my feet but over the past two months I have fallen in love with blogging. The blogging101 course helped immensely and kept me motivated to improve my blog and upload regularly.

So I started my blog – mission accomplished. What is my new goal? My new goal in terms of my blog is to post at least two blogs per week. I want to keep reaching out to as many people as possible and hope to increase my number of readers over the next few months. I have to give a big thankyou to my fellow bloggers who have shown me love and encouragement during the first stages of my blog.

2. Stop putting pressure on myself with regards to how my son is developing – Charlie is 10 months old now and is doing amazing. Just yesterday I was beaming with pride when I went to meet my friend and her son for lunch. Charlie sat nicely in his highchair, he was relaxed, confident with my friend who he hadn’t met before. He was interacting with her son and being gentle when they were playing. He sat and ate his sandwiches and his finger food. I was so proud of him, it was a long day because we travelled quite far to meet up. He was such a pleasure all day, even at night when he was clearly exhausted from a fun day. I’ve learned to have faith in Charlie that he is developing at his own pace, I’m just here to guide him 🙂

3. Make more time for myself – so this is where I am failing. I could have predicted this is the resolution I would find hardest to keep. I still get one day a week to myself when Charlie is at his nanna and grandads. I always use this day to go to the gym, nip to the shop and do my nutrition coursework. All worthwhile tasks but what my resolution was really about was to look after myself better. I workout because I love it and it has the added bonus of keeping me fit and I have never been happier with how my body looks.

But, I wish I could say the same for my appearance. I haven’t had my hair cut for over 6 months, my eyebrows have developed a life of their own. Shaving my legs is not high on my list of priorities (sorry for the tmi but I’ve always said that I would be open and honest on my blog). On top of that my clothes just don’t do me any favours, but I don’t have the money to be buying new ones so I have to work with what I have got.

Why do I find it so hard to look after myself? Well for starters it’s a lack of time, and when I do get a free day I always find other things to do. Also it’s finding the money. I watch every penny carefully and resent spending it on my appearance.

But I’m coming to realise that, in the same way that losing weight made me feel good about myself, a regular “sprucing up” of my appearance will have the same effect.

So what are my short-term plans to rectify my failings in this department?

  • I vow to go to the hairdressers this week, and to buy some new hair clips and bobbles so that I can have my hair up in some different styles ( I can’t wear my hair down because Charlie loves to pull it).
  • Have a soak in the bath one night when Charlie is in bed and maybe paint my nails to feel a bit more girly.

I’m going to leave it at those two; I have to be realistic about what I am able to do in a week.

I will check back in at the end of the week. I hope you are all doing well, and happy 1st of March 🙂

1 thought on “Revisiting New Years resolutions | What I am failing at.”

  1. I think a lot of women, especially mothers, struggle to make time for themselves. I think it’s part instinct/part learned behavior that we always feel the need to take care of others first. But if we don’t take care of ourselves, we can’t possibly take care of others in the best way possible. I think it’s great you are setting goals and reflecting on them to be sure you have some “you” time. We all need that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

