Fitness, Lifestyle, Parenting

Full Day Of Eating | Flexible Dieting

Welcome to my second Full Day Of Eating. Once a week I will upload a blog documenting a typical day of eating for me and show how I hit my targets for Carbohydrates, Fats and Protein. No two days are the same. Some days I eat a lot of nutritious whole foods, other days I enjoy more “treat” foods. 

Here I will take you through my day of eating for Thursday 3rd March 2016. On this day I was out and about running errands for most of the morning and then went straight to the gym at around 1pm. 
As mentioned in my previous Day of Eating blog, I am currently maintaining my weight at 9 st 3 lb (129 lbs / 58kg).

In order to maintain my weight I need to be eating 2,300 calories roughly – based on my activity level and body mass. I choose what percentage of each “macronutrient” (carbs/fats/proteins) I will consume each day.

My current daily goals are:

Carbs: 300g

Fats: 60g

Protein: 128g

Thursday 3rd March 2016
First meal of the day – same as always; Porridge oats (made with water) peanut butter, multi-vitamin and a fish oil tablet.

Meal 1: Carbs 32g, Fat 12g, Protein 9g

I weigh out my servings in order to know what I am consuming. And I track my food intake in the app My Fitness Pal. I will show you at the bottom of the page what this looks like.

Meal 2: pre-workout snack before going to the gym for a full body workout. Krispy Kreme doughnut and a fat free cappuccino. I like to eat high GI foods about 30minutes before working out for that extra energy boost and glycogen top-up. Sometimes I will eat fruit or rice cakes as my pre-workout but today I opted for a treat. 

  
Meal 3 post workout – after completing a 1 hour full body workout I ate a Quest Protein Bar on my way home from the gym. Eating around 20-25g of protein and some carbohydrates post workout assists in recovery and adaptations to training.

  
Meal 4: Sushi – as I was on the go all morning I was late getting to the gym which meant that it was 2:30pm by the time I got home. So rather than cooking a meal I picked up a pack of Sushi from the local supermarket. It’s not often that I do this, I usually make something at home but this is the beauty of flexible dieting. It’s all about balance. 

  
Meal 5: afternoon “snack” Weetabix, semi skimmed milk, teaspoon of sugar and an apple. I make sure that I eat plenty of carbohydrates throughout the day as I live a very busy active lifestyle.

  
Meal 6: evening meal with my husband – homemade slow cooker turkey mince chilli, rice, with a side of veggies

  
And the last meal of the day to hit my protein intake was just a simple whey protein shake. I have tried a few different proteins but tend to buy the ones that are on offer at the time. Be sure to check the ingredient list and opt for those that don’t add too many unnecessary ingredients. A good BCAA content is important for protein shakes and also be aware that some shakes contain 5g + of fat per serving. I try to opt for those that only have 1g or less of fat per serving. 

  
My totals for the day were:

Protein: 129g

Carbohydrates: 299g

Fat: 60g

As shown below on MyFitnessPal:

  
So I was able to hit my numbers whilst treating myself to a doughnut. I ate fruit, vegetables, fish, oats, rice, turkey mince and supplemented with a protein shake and a protein bar. 

As mentioned earlier no two days are the same. Balance is key to maintaining a healthy lifestyle. 

Leave a Reply

