Fitness, Lifestyle

Super Sets and Drop Sets | Maximising My Time

Currently I am working out 3 times per week, this seems to be the most realistic for me at the moment as life as a mummy is getting busier as Charlie gets older. Once a week I make it in to the gym, the other two workouts I am doing at home with my Dumbbells and barbell. 

I track all my workouts in a notebook so that I can be sure that I am progressing, either with the weights I am using, the number of sets I am performing or the amount of rest time I am taking. I feel that recently I have hit a plateau with my workouts and I seem to be just going through the motions when performing the exercises. 

To overcome this I have been trying a different style of training in order to maximise my time and feel that I have pushed myself during the workouts. 

Super sets are great for cramming more volume in to a workout when you are restricted for time. Performing two exercises, one after the other, means being more efficient with your time and also fatigues the muscles faster than if you were taking long breaks in between. My aim isn’t so much to improve my strength, it is more about muscle hypertrophy (growth), so high volume training is essential for this, and super sets make it easier to get in more volume without increasing your training session overall.

Dropsets are also fantastic ways of fatiguing the muscle. For any given exercise, I choose a weight that I can perform 15 reps for 3 sets, with the last two reps of each set being very challenging without going to failure. I like to feel that I had another two reps left in the tank. Once I have performed 3 sets of 15 reps, I lower the weight by approximately 25% and then perform as many reps as possible with that weight. I then lower the weight and do the same again. I LOVE the burn that this gives and I enjoy those sets when I work to muscle failure. I really feel accomplished and that I gave it my all when perform dropsets. I save this style of training for when I have a little more time, or I choose a smaller number of exercises to do for that session.

I am so passionate about working out, I love the different styles of training, the different “tools” you can use to get the most out of your training and the ways in which you can adapt your training style to suit your lifestyle whilst still getting the most out of your workouts. 

If anyone is interested in the different styles and methods of training, or wants to know how they can best plan their workouts, let me know and I will be happy to post about it. 

Leave a Reply

