Fitness, Lifestyle, Parenting

New Years Resolutions 

You may well be thinking “What? New Years resolutions? It’s May!” Well I want to revisit the resolutions that I set at the beginning of 2016. How many of us, without looking at any written list, could remember exactly the resolutions that we made just 5 months ago?

How many resolutions have you stuck too? For those resolutions that you haven’t fulfilled or maintained – why not? 

My resolutions were to:

1. Start a blog

2. Stop putting pressure on myself to raise my son the “textbook” way or comparing my parenting approach to others.

3. Make more time for myself.

So on reflection how am I doing? Well, obviously I succeeded with number 1. But I don’t feel that I have maintained my blog in the way that I imagined that I would. The first few months I had the momentum and I blogged regularly. However the past few months my writing has definitely slowed. 

I think that I am definitely doing well in regards to number 2. As Charlie gets older (he is now 13 months old), I have found that the “milestones” are becoming less important or apparent. Things happen naturally, as I stopped worrying about these things they just kind of happened. So because of that, I have learned to have faith that Charlie will continue to develop nicely at his own pace. 

And for number 3, I would say that I haven’t necessarily made more time for myself because that is extremely difficult with a young child. What I have learned to do is to make better use of the time that I do have. I used to spend my “free time” either working out, doing my online course, Blogging, or doing housework. And I used to think that it was quality “me time”. But what I really needed to do was find ways to truly relax and unwind. Now, when Charlie is at his nannas house or when he is having a nap or in bed, I read, I watch tv, I go for a coffee or I just sit and close my eyes. And I feel a lot better for this. I have to say though that when I set the resolution, what I had in mind was having more soaks in the bath, having my hair done, nails done etc; just pamper myself in general. I still hope to be able to do this at some point, but for now I feel that I have found a much better balance between relaxing and being productive.

So for those of us who make resolutions and don’t stick to them, why is this? Maybe the resolution that we made is something that we ideally would like to do, we like the idea of it, or we are copying somebody else, but we lack the genuine passion for it. Without a genuine passion to do something or achieve something, I believe that we are highly unlikely to follow it through. We don’t need to do things based on what we think we should be doing, it is up to every individual to decide what they are passionate about and what they are willing to work for. 

What were your New Years resolutions? What have you achieved and which ones have you not followed through? Why do you think this is?

3 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions ”

  1. I think it should be about taking one day at a time and setting practical concrete daily resolutions. My most important resolution was to quit my job…and I did. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

