Fitness, Lifestyle, Parenting, Teaching

Finish What You Started

Hurray! I have just managed to get Charlie asleep for his nap at home! I can’t remember the last time I did that! Usually I have to rely on the car. I know, don’t rely on motion to get them to sleep, it’s an inconvenience…..blah blah blah. Personally I quite enjoy it when he falls asleep in the car, I make sure I always have the essentials in the glovebox – a book, a bottle of water, snacks, sunglasses and change for a MacDonalds coffee. I park up and have some peaceful time while Charlie is in the land of nod. Although today I am glad to not be in the car as it appears summer has finally decided to arrive! We are almost at the end of July after all. It is far too hot to be couped up in the car.

So while Charlie sleeps I am exercising my thumbs, frantically trying to type before he wakes up. Today I wanted to write a blog as a reminder to myself to continue being productive with my time off work. I have recently, quite rightly, been enjoying my time with Charlie and my husband. Charlie is growing up so fast, he’s walking, feeding himself, showing new skills every day and he is a joy to be with. Last week my husband took time off work and we did so many lovely family things, and on evenings when Charlie was in bed we would crack open a bottle of wine, pig out on chocolates, and just basically indulge. It was perfect and well needed.

But this week I am back on track with my diet, workouts (although I have found out I have a hernia so I am going to have to adjust my workouts slightly) and I am going to finish the nutrition course that I started in the new year! It is an online course and can be done at my own pace, but after starting with a bang and completing 70% of the course pretty quickly, I came to a complete stop and haven’t looked at it for months. In my opinion it is fine to take a break from the ventures you start, but I never want to be one of those people who don’t finish what they started. 

I think that it is important to never lose sight of the reason you started something in the first place, and this can relate to many things in life not just studying. The reason that I started the course is because I want to offer diet and workout plans to people seeking to live healthier lives. I want people to experience all the positives that I have found in living a healthy lifestyle. I also want to turn this in to a business because it is my real passion. Also, I want to be able to earn money working for myself so that I can have the freedom to spend more time with my family.

I have also decided that I want a total change in my full time career. I want to become a teaching assistant. When the new school term begins I am going to contact numerous schools in my area and offer to volunteer my time as a teaching assistant. With the aim of eventually training to become a TA full time. 

I think that having a 5 or 10 year plan is an extremely useful tool as it helps to keep you focused on what you want to achieve and the short and long term steps that you will take to achieve it. I don’t mind saying it – I don’t like my job, I don’t want to do it any longer. It is the only area of my life that I am not happy with. I know it is a cliche but life is too damn short to stay in a situation that we are not happy with. We have the power to change things. It will take time, it will take work. Plans may not turn out as we expected, but at least taking action and failing is still a step in the right direction. It means that we are actively trying to change our situation, and one day we will get what we wanted. It may take longer than we had planned, our plans may alter and we may take steps in directions that we didn’t intend. But we have to have faith that we will get there in the end.

So for me, the thing that I started that I need to finish is my Nutrion course. And then I will move on to volunteering at a school. 

What are the things that you have started but never finished? Do you think you ever will finish? If not, why? 

Leave a Reply

