Diet and nutrition, Lifestyle, Motivation, Parenting

CUP OF JO #2 CONFIDENCE

image-11903

Let me start by saying that I am not a naturally confident person. When I was at school I was so incredibly shy. I attribute this to my being overweight at the time. Every person has confidence in different ways and their confidence can be linked to certain things about themselves or their lives. This is also true for a persons lack of confidence.

When I was younger a real lack of confidence held me back from doing many of the things I wanted to do. It’s only been in the last 5 or 6 years that I have become confident and happy in my own skin. Weight loss was a big factor in giving me confidence. For me personally I attribute my body image with my self confidence. I don’t believe that makes me shallow, I don’t judge others in the same way, but for me my confidence seemed to come when I lost weight.

In my previous post I talked about time and how we have to make the most of our time, to get over the fear of failure and to just do the things that we want to do in life and be the person that we want to be. I believe that confidence, or a lack of, is tied to that same fear that stops us from doing something. If we don’t have confidence in ourselves, our abilities, then we are less likely to do something that we find challenging. We are less likely to put ourselves out in the world, to engage with others and to show them what we can offer.

Every person has something to offer this world, every person can be a person of value. I don’t say that this is an easy thing to realise, because it is not. I am still working on my confidence, to overcome my doubts when they crop up. But I have been changing my way of thinking and over the last few years I have done things that I would never have dared to do previously; things that other people wouldn’t see as a big deal and would do easily without hesitation, but for me personally they were big achievements.

I believe that by valuing the challenges you have overcome and by being proud of what you have achieved, no matter how insignificant it may appear to somebody else, you should use this as confidence to go on and do the next thing, and the next thing, and to become the person you want to be.

Leave a Reply

