Diet and nutrition, Fitness, Lifestyle, Motivation, Parenting

CUP OF JO #3 Gratitude

image-11903

” Gratitude is a thankful appreciation for what an individual receives, whether tangible or intangible. With gratitude, people acknowledge the goodness in their lives.”

Today I want to talk about gratitude and how it can make you a more positive and happier individual. This is not just my opinion, there have been numerous studies on the topic which have shown gratitude to have a direct link to positive emotions, improved health, coping strategies and all around improved wellbeing.

Wellbeing has been a big thing for me over the past couple of years. Since going through a tough time after my son was born, I have really focused on becoming a positive, gracious and humble person. I put a lot of emphasis on physical health; working out and eating well, but I came to realise the importance of balance and the need for mental and emotional wellbeing.

I am a strong believer that you attract what you focus on. So if you are a positive, proactive person, you will feel happier and achieve more things than if you are a negative, reactive person. In this way you also need to consider the people around you. Are you brightening their mood, are you inspiring them? Are they lifting your mood and encouraging you?

Each day I try to think of 3 things that I am grateful for. This can be anything from being grateful for having clean drinking water, having electricity, being healthy and free from medical problems, to having a car and being able to drive where I want.

I believe that taking the time out of your day to think about or write down 3 things that you are grateful for, is a very powerful thing which can make you think in a different way. I have recently come across the 5-minute journal in which you can record what you are grateful for, what happened in the day that was good and how you can make your days better, among other things.

 

img_does_work

Personally, when I think of the things we usually take for granted and remind myself of how lucky I am, I instantly feel my mood lifting and I feel lighter. It seems to help put in to perspective any problems you feel that you have. The studies I have looked in to also found that being gracious can enable you to create better coping strategies, to better handle negative situations and to find a better response when things are challenging.

So have a go at thinking of 3 things you are grateful for today, and reflect on what sort of attitude you have towards challenging situations that you may be faced with.

Once again thankyou for reading my blogs, I am enjoying the Cup Of Jo series of mini-blogs. I think that I am going to cap it off at 5 so be sure to look out for the next 2 coming soon.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

