Beauty, Budget Beauty, Budget Make Up, Lifestyle, Make Up, mummy blog, NYX, Parenting, parenting blog, Sleek

Mini Make-Up Haul | Cheaper Alternatives

Let me start by saying I am COMPLETELY CLUELESS when it comes to make-up and how to apply it. I slap it on and hope for the best! On my wedding day 3 years ago my best friend, who is a make-up expert, did my make-up and I think that was the best I have ever looked. So after the wedding I asked her for tips on what products were best. Unsurprisingly the products were really high quality, and high priced! They included Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation, Bobbi Brown blusher, Benefits High Beam, Smashbox Primer and Urban Decay make-up setting spray. I absolutely loved the products, and as we were pre-child in those days, I had the extra money to spend on high priced items like these.

These days we are a one-income family, money is tight and I put a lot of thought in to what we spend weekly on food, baby groups and petrol. My Facebook page @wellmummy is focused on how I feed my family of 3 on a budget. I’d say that I last bought new makeup a year ago!

Taking a look inside my make-up bag you would find Lacura foundation from Aldi, L’oreal mascara from a budget makeup shop (that in all honestly has been empty for about 6 months but I have continued to apply it anyway) and an eyebrow pencil which I’ve had for so long I don’t even know where I got it from.

I see so many new mum’s looking FABULOUS! Their skin looks amazing, they are glowing………….and it makes me feel so inadequate! They have newborns and will definitely be getting a lot less sleep than me! Yet they look well rested and glowing with health! Anyone who knows me will tell you that I work my butt off to stay physically in good shape. But I have totally neglected my skincare and make-up, and my wardrobe too. Yes we are on a budget but if I am completely honest, I kind of haven’t really cared enough about those aspects of my appearance to put any thought or effort into them.

So last week I Googled alternatives to expensive make-up, and I splurged on 4 new items for my make-up bag. A friend also recommended I buy a facial exfoliator brush as she was MORTIFIED when I told her I don’t exfoliate! So far I am really happy with the products and I feel like I have reclaimed some of the “glow” that I see with so many other mums. This photo was taken yesterday, I will list below the products I bought and give a little review of each.

IMG_5854[4110]

  1. The Body Shop Facial Exfoliator Brush

I’m sure that this stuff is totally obvious to most women, but like I have said, makeup and skincare just isn’t something I am good at. So when my friend found out I didn’t exfoliate she immediately told me to buy an exfoliator brush to get rid of the dead skin and allow my make-up to go on easier. This exfoliator brush from The Body Shop was £4 and comes with its own little lid for storage. My skin already seems clearer and smoother. I will continue to use the brush once a week, either in the shower using face wash, or after applying moisturiser (I currently use Aloe Vera moisturiser).

FullSizeRender - Copy

 

2. SLEEK MakeUp Face Contour Kit

I have never contoured my face! Nor did I even know that a face should be contoured! I do notice people who have lovely high cheekbones that the light bounces off, but I had no idea that this effect could be achieved through makeup, I just thought it was genetics. This kit by Sleek was £6.49. It comes in a light, medium or dark shade. I bought light, as I have milk bottle white skin. There is a darker shade for contouring, then a lighter shade to highlight. Luckily the kit comes with directions, so that a newb like me can have a go. It will take some practice but so far I have managed to blend well enough to not have dark brown lines randomly crossing my face.

FullSizeRender - Copy (5)

3. NYX Born To Glow Liquid Illuminator

I previously use Benefits High Beam, which I loved, but at roughly £20 a bottle it is out of my budget these days. The NYX Illuminator does just the same thing, and is £7 a bottle. Much more budget friendly! The first time I used this I instantly noticed a difference, I seemed to have a bit more of a glow. This is the first highlighter I have bought since my Benefits High Beam ran out almost 2 years ago! I will definitely be keeping this as a make-up staple.

FullSizeRender - Copy (4)

4. SLEEK MakeUp Brow Kit

I have only ever had my eyebrows done once, it was expensive, and as I have sensitive skin, the area around my eyebrows was red for several days. I liked how they looked, I had them waxed and tinted, but I have never had them done again. The lady who did them said I should have them done every 6 weeks. I instantly knew that I wouldn’t be able to commit to the upkeep of them. So instead I pluck the stray hairs, and give them some shape with an eyebrow pencil. This Sleek kit contains wax for shaping, powder for setting, two brushes and mini-tweezers. All for £8.49. I am already finding it a lot easier to achieve my desired eyebrow shape with this kit, and will be using this from now on instead of the pencil.

FullSizeRender - Copy (2)

5. L’Oréal Paris Volume Million Lashes So Couture Mascara

The first mascara I have bought for around 9 months! I bought this from Asda at £7. It goes on really easily, no clumping, and the brush design makes it easy to spread from root to tip. Considering some mascaras are £20+, I don’t see the need to spend anymore than the £7 that this mascara cost.

FullSizeRender - Copy (3)

 

I remain a complete novice on make-up and skin care, but I do feel that I am a step closer to connecting with my inner femininity. Even if I don’t look any different to anybody else, I feel like I can definitely see more of a glow to my skin since using these products. When my current Aldi foundation runs out I will be looking for a cheaper alternative. I did love the Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation so I will be looking in to cheaper alternatives to that.

At least this is a start on my quest to being a yummy mummy, and it didn’t break the bank 🙂

Leave a Reply

