Fitness, Infertility, Lifestyle, Parenting, Teaching

New Year | No Resolutions, just self improvement | 2017

If 2016 taught me anything, it is that time passes by so quickly. Memories that seems just a few months ago were actually years ago. I’m getting older, my friends are getting older, my parents are getting older. 

I haven’t made any “resolutions” this year but I do plan on focusing on self improvement and progression, as I believe everybody should do all of the time, not just at the beginning of a new year. 

Last year was busy, I gained two qualifications relating to health and fitness, I turned 30, my son turned 1, my husband got promoted. We progressed as a family. I set resolutions at the beginning of 2016, did I stick to them? Yes and no.
My first was to start a blog, which I did. In 2016 I published 46 blog posts, and I had 609 visitors to my blog. My Blogging hasn’t been very consistent but I do keep coming back and I find comfort in sharing my thoughts and experiences with others, and hearing their feedback. I also wrote an arrival for Bud Fertility, opening up about our trouble conceiving and our experience of IVF.

My second was to stop putting pressure on myself as a parent and I definitely have found that easier as Charlie has got older. I absolutely love being a mum, it still has its challenges but I am a lot more at ease than I was in the early days.


My last resolution was to make more time for myself to relax and “pamper” myself. This one I still need to work on. I look after myself physically by eating well and exercising regularly, but I find it hard to switch off, I never just sit and have a glass of wine or watch tv- I always feel like I should be doing something productive. This year I definitely want to embrace “me-time” and get better at switching off.

In 2017 I want to improve and progress in all areas of my life. If you follow my blog you will know that I am passionate about health and fitness, over the years I have gained a lot of knowledge and made many changes in my life to live a healthier lifestyle and with this I have gained confidence. I want to share what I know with others in order to help them live a healthier lifestyle and to be happy with the person that they are.  I am a strong believer that you should be focus so much on your own improvement and progression that you don’t have time to compare yourself or concern yourself with what others are doing. 


I believe that you should find what you are passionate about and make small steps each day or each week to get you closer to your goals, otherwise time will pass you by and you will not have progressed. There is no perfect time to start, things will never be “perfect”, you just have to start.

So this year I will be setting up and running a “Mums Team” project as part of the English Institute of Sport’s campaign to get more women active. I am not the most confident person and I would say that I am naturally shy, but that trait has held me back from doing a lot of things over the years, and I refuse to let it any longer. I have confidence in myself and in my knowledge, and I am going to put myself out there this year and really make a change. It’s never too late.

I also will be attending a Train To Teach information event because I want to pursue a career in Physical Education. 

On a more personal level, this year my husband and I are going to take more trips with our son, we are going to mark our wedding anniversary by doing something special (usually we just let it go by unnoticed) and I am going to make more of an effort to “switch off” on an evening once Charlie is in bed, make more time for reading, watching tv box sets (House of Cards is a favourite at the minute) and enjoy the odd glass of wine (yes, where most people resolve to cut down on alcohol, I am planning on doing the opposite).


The Happy New Year to you all, feel free to comment below with your thoughts on resolutions and what plans you have for 2017.

Leave a comment